5 Reasons Why I Picked A Career In Tech

5 Reasons Why I Picked A Career In Tech

Introduction:

Growing up I always wanted to be a Medical Doctor. I thought that dogs would have to fly before I ever changed my mind. Turns out I was wrong.

After passing my Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board (JAMB) examination to get accepted into the university, I got admitted into BSc. Biological Sciences instead of Medicine. It was a long year.

But who knew not getting what I wanted would turn out to be a blessing?

I had a moment of clarity: Medicine wasn’t for me. Thus, when filling in my JAMB form again the next year, I wrote “BSc. Computer Science” instead of Medicine. This time I got what I wanted!

I have since been an enthusiastic and upbeat Computer Science student at Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria.

pexels-nappy-2531353.jpg

Read on to find out the five reasons why I decided to major in Computer Science (CS).

1. What I Really Want

One day in Junior Secondary School math class, our teacher introduced us to a new topic: Circle Theorems (Euclidean geometry). After listening attentively, she gave us an exercise to solve. I applied different rules (theorems), to find the missing angle. It was challenging and yet exciting.

Oh, behold my fascination when our teacher solved the same exercise on the white board using a different method, and arrived at the same result! “There is more than one way to arrive at the correct answer”, she said.

The experience birthed my love for applying logic and rules to solve problems, even in the real world. The excitement of being able to solve a problem differently has lingered ever since.

2d105c4115a33deb35cc83b9cf07f219.jpg

When contemplating about my career choice, I remembered that day. I wanted a career that I would find ‘challenging and yet exciting’. Finding out that careers in tech like Software development, involved just that, I knew I found the perfect choice.

2. Job Opportunities

“We live in a digital age, and there is no going back!”

pexels-pixabay-327540.jpg

My parents understand that a Major in computer science is high in demand across all industries, even in developing countries like Nigeria. Software developers, Data Analysts, Machine Learning Engineers, and pretty much any tech related career are making it big. So, when I told my parents about my change of heart for Medicine -and my inclination towards Computer Science- they, although surprised, did not object.

There is constant development of new technologies in the world, evidently there’s a constant demand for brilliant tech minds who can create, maintain, and fix both gadgets and code. And the best part; high demand means good pay!

With a degree in CS, excellent technical skills and soft skills in a bag, I could go places and work anywhere I want. More on this later. 😊

3. Comfortable Life

I know what you are thinking: good pay means comfortable life right? Wrong. That’s not always the case. To me a comfortable life means stable/good income, and a balanced life and career.

pexels-gabby-k-5331202.jpg With a Computer Science related field, I could freelance, work full time, part time, or get a job abroad. All career paths in tech are exportable, via remote work, meaning you’re not limited to Nigeria’s market demand. If I were to move to an island like Madagascar, I could still work remotely with or for a company in say China. If I wanted to travel the world and still have a good job, I could also do that happily.

4. Social Impact

The world is full of problems. Problems that could be solved with technology. I earlier wanted to be a doctor to save lives. Another reason why I changed my mind was because I wanted to do more.

I could be the software developer that builds a life-saving app. I could be a Machine Learning engineer that finds a way to reduce killings and banditry in sub-Saharan Africa. I could be a Web Developer that creates a system that would make lives better for a community.I could do more than saving lives, I could make them better.

pexels-engin-akyurt-1571734.jpg

I want more than anything to be a hero; to make a social impact. A career in tech would be my way of doing that.

5. So Many Cool Options

Computer Science is so vast, that there are many interesting careers to pick: Machine Learning, Software development, Data Science, Cyber Security, the list goes on.

The best part is that, tech-related fields would always be needed in sectors including finance, education, transport and even medicine. Bringing us back to my first point on ‘job opportunities’. I find most careers in tech very enticing, always introducing one to new concepts, technologies and problems to solve.

pexels-tim-mossholder-942320.jpg

6. Conclusion

Although to succeed in the tech industry one doesn’t need a degree in CS, majoring in it has opened up doors for me to dig deep into what I am passionate about, and meet amazing people that share the same interests. I am glad I changed my mind.

Fast forward 3 years, I owe my progress in tech to my school, support system, networks and my boyfriend Google for helping me become the Software developer I am today. The tech industry is a candy store, and the different career options are mouth-watering. Computer Science is an ideal field for anyone looking for a meaningful job, excitement and a comfortable life.

Now my next big decision, which candy should I pick?

(Picture credits: Pexels.com)